The Department is responsible for performing oversight and support to 54 municipalities and 296 Traditional Leaders and their respective structures.




latest news

Bursary Opportunities 2016 (Application Form)


Pietermaritzburg Showcases Women’s Handiwork During The Provincial Beads Festival
15 October 2016
The province’s capital celebrated the handiwork of rural women this weekend (15 October 2016) as thousands descended on the city to participate in the annual Provincial Festival of Beads Festival...View More
KZN Cogta Mec Makes Powerful Case for 50 Percent Gender Representation in Municipalities
14 October 2016
KZN MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Cogta) Nomusa Dube-Ncube has made a powerful case for gender equity in the province’s municipalities by advocating a legislated gender quota system for councillors and municipal officials which has so far only been practiced voluntarily by the ruling party within its own structures...View More
KZN COGTA MEC urges newly elected councillors to exercise robust oversight
10 October 2016
KZN MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Cogta) Nomusa Dube-Ncube has urged all newly elected councillors to master the local government environment in order to exercise robust oversight and safeguard their independence from municipal officials...View More
KZN Premier Unveils A Roadmap Towards The Payment Of Izinduna Salaries
30 September 2016
KwaZulu-Natal Premier Willies Mchunu has reiterated government’s commitment towards working with the institution of traditional leadership....View More
KZN Government Steps Up Efforts To Minimise Impact Of Natural Disasters
30 September 2016
"The remote community of Bergville, under the Okhahlamba Local Municipality is one of the most affected areas in the province of KwaZulu-Natal when it comes to natural disasters. Communities living in this area have suffered greatly because of lightning strikes which have cost the lives of over 30 people, in the past five years....View More
KZNCOGTA Launches The Provincial Summer Season Disaster Public Awareness Campaign In The Ugu District
22 September 2016
"It’s that time of the year again when KwaZulu-Natal is expected to see changes in weather, and heavy rains and dangerous lightning may well be the signs that summer is in the air"...View More
KZN COGTA MEC Champions Rural Industrialisation As Durban Hosts International Palnning Conference
13 September 2016
"KZN MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Cogta) Nomusa Dube-Ncube has called for a concerted effort to industrialise the province’s rural areas to stem the flow of migration to KZN’s cities and the use of smart technology in urban planning as Durban hosts an international ISOCARP conference on planning"...View More
COGTA MEC sheds light on the status of hung municipalities in the province
06 September 2016
"We must be mindful that in the case of Jozini, we are dealing with a council that has no speaker. It is therefore not surprising that some of the parties concerned now want to make COGTA and the MEC a scapegoat for their failure to be leaders that act in the interest of the communities"...View More
Quick Links

Quick Links


Annual Performance Plan (APP) 2016/2017

Annual Report (2015-2016)

Traditional Levies and Trust Account

Service Delivery Improvement Plan (SDIP)