Heaps praise on amakhosi following smooth reconstitution of coastal houses of traditional leaders

Cooperative Governance and traditional Affairs MEC Nomusa Dube-Ncube witnessing the swearing-in ceremony for newly elected Amakhosi for the Ethekwini Traditional House at Pinetown Civic Centre. 01.09.17

KZN MEC for Cogta Nomusa Dube-Ncube has congratulated amakhosi elected to the Executive Committees of Houses of Traditional Leaders in the southern parts of the province which include eThekwini, Ugu, Harry Gwala, uMgungundlovu and Ilembe districts.

Dube-Ncube was today present in the eThekwini metro where she witnessed the swearing-in ceremony for newly elected amakhosi.

“The institution of traditional leadership is an important pillar in our democratic dispensation. Without amakhosi, our province would not be where it is. We are very optimistic that the leadership that was elected today is going to guide us as government in our endeavour to usher in a better life for all our people, especially those residing in the rural areas,” said Dube- Ncube.

The term of office of the current Houses of Traditional Leaders in the province started in 2012 in line with the provisions of the Traditional Leadership and Governance Act 2005 which, read with the applicable national legislation, provides for the alignment of terms of the local and provincial Houses of Traditional Leaders with that of the National House of Traditional Leaders.

“In the coming days, we will be reconstituting Houses of Traditional Leaders in the nothern part of the province that is uThukela, Amajuba, uMkhanyakude, Zululand and uMzinyathi districts. We will then be left with the reconstitution of the Traditional Councils whose term of office is due to lapse in February 2018. We are hopeful that this process too will proceed smoothly,” said Dube-Ncube.

The following amakhosi were elected as Chairperson’s of their respective Local House of Traditional Leaders:

  • uMgungundlovu: Inkosi Zwelinjani Mhlabunzima Mthuli
  • Harry Gwala: Inkosi Phathisizwe Chiliza
  • Ugu: Inkosi Rubert Sifiso Shinga
  • EThekwini: Inkosi Simingaye Mlaba

ILembe elections were adjourned and will be reconvened, the date will be advised.

Media enquiries: KZN spokespersons Lennox Mabaso, 082 884 2403; or Msawakhe Mayisela, 060 966 4220