Establishment of Local Houses of Traditional Leaders

A Local House is hereby established in the areas of district municipalities where there are five or more traditional communities. In the event that less than five traditional communities exist in the area of any district municipality, the traditional leaders within that district municipality, must choose one from amongst their number to represent traditional communities at the sitting of meetings of such district municipalities.

Composition of Local Houses
Each Local House consists of all the Amakhosi within the district municipality. A local House may establish and elect an executive committee comprising no more than 7 members of that Local House. An executive committee of a Local House has the roles and functions conferred or imposed upon it by that Local House.

Meetings of Local Houses
The MEC for COGTA must, by notice in the Gazette, convene the first meetings of Local Houses. At the first meeting of a Local House a person appointed by the MEC must act as Chairperson until such time as the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of that Local House have been elected by the members of that House.

Meetings of Local Houses must be convened by written notice to all the members at least four days prior to the date of the meeting.

Roles and Functions of Local Houses
For purposes of the roles and functions of a Local House, the provisions of section 17(3) of the Traditional Leadership and Governance Framework Act, 2003, apply with the necessary changes. If the members of a Local House have reason to believe that one of the members of that Local House is neglecting his or her traditional roles or functions, they may counsel that member, provided however that their role is advisory, and they do not have any disciplinary authority over that member.

Dispute resolution
Whenever a dispute concerning customary law or customs arises within a traditional community or between traditional communities or other traditional institutions on a matter arising from the implementation of this Act or otherwise, members of such a community or institution and Traditional Leaders within the traditional community or traditional institution concerned must seek to resolve the dispute internally and in accordance with customary law and customs.

Any dispute contemplated in subsection (1) that cannot be resolved must be referred to:

  • the Provincial House of Traditional Leaders, which must seek to resolve the dispute in accordance with its rules and procedures within 30 days;
  • the MEC for COGTA, in the event that the Provincial House of Traditional Leaders is unable to or has failed to resolve the dispute, who may, subject to the provisions of 21(1)(b) and 25 of the Traditional Leadership and Governance Framework Act, 2003, refer the matter to the Commission for its recommendation within 30 days; and
  • the Premier, in the event that the MEC for COGTA is unable to or has failed to resolve the dispute, who must resolve the dispute within 30 days after consultation with the
    (i) MEC;
    (ii) the parties to the dispute; and
    (iii) the Provincial House of Traditional Leaders.
Thandekile Conco Ilembe (KwaDukuza) Tel: 032 551 1035
Fax: 032 552 1095
Cell: 072 981 8408
Zethu Dlamini Sisonke (Ixopo) Tel: 033 395 2688
Fax: 0333425060
Cell: 083 363 1009
Zimbili Maphanga Umgungundlovu (Pmb) Tel: 033 8975602
Fax: 0333421269
Cell: 072 151 7820
Khulekani Buthelezi (Acting Dep. Manager) Umkhanyakude (Umkhuze) Tel: 0355731744
Fax: 033 897 5752
Cell: 082 503 7617
Vuyiswa Myezo Ugu (Port Shepstone) Tel: 039 684 0311
Fax: 039 682 0004 (Land Aff.)
Cell: 072 2998308
Bheki Mkhize Ethekwini (Pinetown) Tel: 031 204 1868
Fax: 031 204 1917
Cell: 076 264 2471
Makhosini Mthimkhulu Umzinyathi (Dundee) Tel: 034 212 2772
Fax: 034 212 2473
Cell: 072 397 9460
Mbuso Sikakane Uthungulu (Eshowe) Tel: 035 474 5809/7
Fax: 035 474 5808
Cell: 083 439 0427
Nozipho Msimango (Acting Dep. Manager) Uthukela (Ladysmith) Tel: 036 631 4838
Fax: 036 631 2889
Cell: 076 566 3490
Sandile Nyembe Zululand (Ulundi) Tel: 0358743898
Fax: 035 874 2850
Cell: 072 539 9856
Sipho Buthelezi Amajuba (Newcastle) Tel: 0343153728
Fax: 034 312 5381
Cell: 084 548 6379








Disaster Management


People centered sustainable cooperative governance which is responsive to the needs of communities

T. +27 (0) 33 395 2831

330 Langalibalele Street, Pietermaritzburg 3200