MEC Nomusa Dube-Ncube



  • Served as the Mayor of the North Central Local Council before this local authority of Durban was amalgamated with several others to form what is now a bigger municipality known as the eThekwini Municipality (Durban).
  • Subsequent to that, she was appointed the Speaker of the Municipality.
  • After a remarkable term as the Speaker, the ANC redeployed her to serve as Ambassador to the Czech Republic.
  • After that, she was appointed back home to serve as Chief Whip of the African National Congress in the KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Legislature.
  • Parallel to that, she was appointed as the Deputy Provincial Secretary of the African National Congress in KwaZulu-Natal.
  • She is currently serving as the MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.
  • Her most recent political deployment is the Treasurer of the African National Congress in KwaZulu-Natal.


  • Chairperson of Durban Unicity Committee
  • Member of Greater Durban Metropolitan Negotiating Forum
  • Mayor of the North Central Council
  • Chairperson of the Durban tourism Board of Directors and the National Training Board of Local Government Bodies
  • Member of the Board of Directors of the Tourism KwaZulu-Natal
  • Member of the Senate of the University Council of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Chairperson of the Gender Working Group of African Union of Local Authorities
  • Member of the Curries Fountain Development Centre
  • Board Member of the Shaka Marine World
  • Member of Salga National Executive Committee
  • Executive member of Greater Durban Community Foundation

Committees (eThekwini)

  • Ex-Officio for Executive Council Meeting
  • Chair of Masakhane, Grant-In-Aid Committee
  • Chair of Non-Racism, Non-Sexism, Non-Discrimination Committee

Academic Profile

  • Diploma in Public Management: Durban University of Technology
  • Diploma in Management & Leadership: University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Diploma in Training & Development: University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Master’s Degree in Public Administration-University of KwaZulu-Natal